commission authority to provide similar services in the Yukon Territory. The name of the commission (formerly the Northwest Territories Power Commission) was changed in 1956. It is composed of a chairman and four members appointed by the Governor in Council. Of the additional members, one each is appointed on the recommendation of the Commissioner in Council of the Northwest Territories and the Commissioner in Council of the Yukon Territory.

Northern Transportation Company Limited. This company was incorporated in 1947 under the title of Northern Transportation Company (1947) Limited, the date being omitted from the name in 1952. Previously a company chartered under an Alberta statute, it had been a wholly-owned subsidiary of Eldorado Nuclear Limited until late 1975, when the company's common shares were transferred to the Minister of Transport in trust for Her Majesty in right of Canada. The company conducts the business of a common carrier in the Mackenzie River watershed, the western Arctic and Hudson Bay, and operates a wholly-owned subsidiary trucking company with operations in Alberta and the Northwest Territories. It is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Office of the Administrator, Anti-Inflation Act. The office was established on December 15, 1975 by the Anti-Inflation Act (SC 1974-75-76, c.75, amended by SC 1974-75-76, c.98). The administrator enforces the Anti-Inflation Board guidelines with orders that are binding when the guidelines are disputed or contravened. In price and profit matters the administrator may order excess revenues to be returned to the buyers, the market or the Crown. In compensation matters, he may order that excess payments be recovered from the employer, the employee or both. The administrator, appointed by the Governor in Council, may appoint one or more deputy administrators. He reports to Parliament through the Minister of National Revenue.

Office of the Auditor General. This office originated in 1878 and currently functions under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10). The Auditor General is responsible for examining accounts relating to the Consolidated Revenue Fund and to public property, and for reporting annually to the House of Commons the results of his examinations. He also audits the accounts of various Crown corporations and other organizations. The Minister of Finance acts as spokesman in Parliament for the Auditor General.

Office of the Chief Electoral Officer. This office was established in 1920 under the provisions of the Dominion Elections Act, now the Canada Elections Act (RSC 1970, c.14, 1st Supp.) as amended by the Election Expenses Act (SC 1973-74, c.51), and is responsible for the conduct of all federal elections as well as the elections of members of the Northwest Territories Council and of the Yukon Territory Council. In addition, it conducts any vote taken under the Canada Temperance Act. The Chief Electoral Officer is responsible directly to the House of Commons, the President of the Privy Council acting as spokesman for him in the Cabinet.

Office of the Coordinator, Status of Women. The office received official status April 1, 1976 by Order in Council PC 1976-781. The coordinator reports to and assists the minister "responsible for the Status of Women". The coordinator monitors the activities of federal departments to ensure that they are in line with the policy of promoting equality between men and women. She also coordinates new initiatives to improve the status of women within the federal government. The office, located in Ottawa, carries on the work begun in 1970 in the Privy Council Office.

Office of the Representation Commissioner. The office was established in 1963 under the provisions of the Representation Commissioner Act (RSC 1970, c.R-6). After each decennial census, the Representation Commissioner is responsible for preparing maps showing the distribution of population in each province and setting out alternative proposals respecting the boundaries of electoral districts in each province. These maps are supplied to the 11 electoral boundaries commissions (one for each province and one for the Northwest Territories) established under the provisions of the Electoral Boundaries Readiustment Act (RSC 1970, c.E-2). The Representation Commissioner is a member of each of the commissions. The Secretary of State acts as spokesman for the office in the Cabinet and the House of Commons.

Panarctic Oils Ltd. This corporation is a consortium of mining and oil and gas companies, individuals and Petro-Canada, formed in 1967 to explore for oil and gas in the Arctic. Panarctic Oils Ltd. is not a Crown corporation and does not report to Parliament.

Pension Appeals Board. This board, established under the Canada Pension Plan Act (RSC 1970, c.C-5) hears appeals under the Canada Pension Plan and under certain provincial pension plans. It also hears appeals from certain decisions of the Umpire under the Unemployment Insurance Act (SC 1971, c.48) as amended. The board consists of two judges of the Federal Court of Canada or of a superior court of a province appointed as chairman and vice-chairman, and not less than one and not more than eight other persons, each of whom must be a judge of the Federal Court or of a superior, district or county court of a